Thanking you all …

Dear fellow readers, writers and bloggers,

It is with gratitude that I write to you today.  Firstly I must say I was surprised to receive your ‘letter‘ thanking me (reader appreciation award from Pomme Pal) when I indeed am in awe of the wonderful news that arrive in the ‘post‘ every week from you.

I did write this letter many months ago but only now are posting on to you ..  my apologies for the delay.

Everyday I thank the stars above for the good things in my life, love, family, sunshine, good food, friends, pets, enticing books, music, good health … and being part of the wonderful blogging world.  Each week I look for a letter, a poem, a song or a story of some important aspect of my fellow blogger’s life and I relish every word you write. The fact that you trust me sufficiently, to share with me both the happy and sad moments in your life -  it is indeed a privilege to read your ‘news’.  It is my favourite time of the day, to grab a cup of coffee and sit down to read my emails (question three).

Not only your words.  Your pictures, dear friends are also beautiful and inspiring.  Pictures of your journey along the road, your weekly photos, pictures of your garden, your family, your travels and not least of all, pictures of you.  Those poignant and funny pictures.  I delight in seeing photos of animals and native birds in their natural habitat (question two).

I hear about vehicles going in for surgery and cardboard cutouts going on holiday around the world.  I hear about things that you have given up for good and things that you have begun with passion and purpose.   I check out your bookshelf and I read directions on how to bake a cake, carve a pumpkin, make teacosies, use a knife and write on a mirror with glitter!!.   I learned about National Batik Day, Harry Potter’s invisible cloak and the corridors of learning.  Did I mention ghosts and spots?  I love spots and dots (question five).  I am sure my name was “Dot” or “Dotty” in a past life.

Now that I have been initiated into the blog-o-sphere, [sincere thanks go to my beautiful, talented, informed and educated daughter], I hardly have time for all those other social media tools and systems out there in the big wide world (question four).

Also dear friends, thank you for introducing me to Charles Azvenor, fun afternoons with friends (question eight) and the pleasure of colour.  I adore the voice of Mr Azvenor or maybe it is just the language.  French always seems like the language of love, even when the words may not be about love when interpreted to a language I do understand.

I have a few passions – family and books being two of them – (questions ten) and they both keep me motivated, connected and interested in life and people.

Sunday is a special day (question eight) for me!  It is a day of relaxing and a family day.  It is also the day that I like to pick a bunch of flowers (question nine) from the garden to put into a china jug on the table to enjoy for the week.  When arranging flowers I have been led to believe that an odd number of flowers in a vase look better aesthetically than an even number.  I think the number three (question seven) is a good number, three flowers in a vase, three daily tasks towards my goal and three fun activities planned for the weekend.

The other thing that is important to me is ongoing emotional and spiritual growth and development.  This is what I delight in – a little bit of new awareness and understanding each and every day.

I am certain of nothing but the holiness of the heart’s affections and the truth of the imagination. 

~  John Keats

Here is a lovely picture of the award badge that I borrowed from Gypsy Life.  I hope it shows up well in this letter and in the widget on my blog page, it is so pretty and I really like yellow.  Although green is probably my most favourite colour (question one).

note:  I was going to include some money in this letter so you could buy yourself something nice, but I had already licked and sealed the envelope so I will send it next time (joke joke).  It is such fun giving as well as receiving presents, isn’t it (question six)?

another note:  I hope I have completed the tasks and rules according to those in the know.  (a link, a logo, 10 questions answered and share ‘nominate’ 10 blogs that I enjoy reading).

The 10 Questions:

  • Your favourite colour?
  • Your favourite animal?
  • Your favourite non-alcoholic drink?
  • Facebook or Twitter?
  • Your favourite pattern?
  • Do you prefer getting or giving presents?
  • Your favourite number?
  • Your favourite day of the week?
  • Your favourite flower?
  •  What is your passion?

Thanking you all …

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. it is an ongoing thing .... building on my knowledge year after year to create a more holistic and authentic life and experience. Living with good intentions and being more transparent - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I create. I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas. My experience of being real and authentic has been quite complicated at times!!
This entry was posted in books & authors, good intentions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanking you all …

  1. pommepal says:

    Beautifully composed and such a thoughtful reply. I agree with you that the blogging world is a force for good and a great way for us all to connect in this some times unstable world. I wish you lots of happiness for 2014

    • Thank you Pommepal. I appreciate your comments. That post/letter has been sitting in my DRAFTS for sooooo long (as you can appreciate) so it is nice to finish and send it on it’s way. Ah happiness and joy, I am looking forward to it.

  2. Louise says:

    Hi! Thank you for following my blog!

  3. Louise says:

    … and linking my post. I just figured out what that meant a couple minutes ago!

  4. Pingback: Zero to Hero ~ day 14 | holistic complications

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

