The Beautiful and Useful .. or clutter?

I have noticed that sometimes when people do a clutter clearing they throw out and discard without reflection or awareness.

Confucius said “..study without reflection is a waste of time;  reflection without study is dangerous”.

When clearing and cleaning the house of clutter remember to check on the usefulness or beauty of each item.  Maybe it has a special memory of a person or event in your life.  Maybe that favourite toy from your youth or your child’s baby days now belongs on a bed or display shelf instead of tossed unloved into a corner of the garage or shed.  Is it a box of photos that you could store on your computer today or spend some quality time creating a memory book with them?

If it is not useful to you could it be useful to someone else?  Many charity, second-hand and antique shops appreciate an opportunity to buy or exchange the quality used items that we no longer need.  If you don’t need some cash for your items maybe you could give them away, to the shop owner or a community centre as a donation / gift.

Then spend some time enjoying the beautiful and useful.

A visit to Hobart and MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) perhaps?

MONA (outside view)

At MONA and looking towards Hobart

There are many things in the world around us that are beautiful to look at and can be most useful in the right place.  Some of these items or things that you might not want in your own home  ….   you can still enjoy in a Museum, Art Gallery or your community.

Specialty Cheese

Some tasty cheese with gherkin and cherries

I also enjoyed some fun moments with the beautiful people in my life.  Good company, good food and good wine; a taste of the beautiful and useful (a little sustenance is always useful for the body and soul).

MONA steps

So, on reflection I believe it has been a successful January month.   I have made a good start on de-cluttering  the physical items in my home and I have made time to reflect and enjoy the beautiful aspect of my life and the ‘holistic’ opportunities available.
About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.