Breakfast .. healthy or not?

My February plan to have a regular and healthy breakfast has been progressing well.  Some days I achieve and some days I am a little more unhealthy than is useful for my holistic well-being. (sad face)

So…  I though I would share some of my healthy (and not so healthy) options from my last couple of weeks.

Twinings Tea and fruit

Good preparation is important – so I stocked up the pantry with healthy options

I made a plan, a bit of an outline about what I thought would constitute healthy eating and ditched the other ‘rubbish’ from the pantry and fridge.  That way I was not as tempted to eat unhealthy foods.

Breakfast Cereal

A bowl of breakfast cereal with a few extra sultanas

Of course, there are still the unhealthy days for me.  One of those mornings when I have not allowed myself sufficient time for a decent breakfast and I grab a quick cup of coffee and that chocolate biscuit.

chocolate biscuit

Black coffee with a Tim Tam chocolate biscuit

I open the fridge door and there was the chocolate biscuit .. begging .. “choose me, choose me”..   so I did!  I succumbed to temptation.   I have chocolate biscuits there for the light supper option to have with a cup of tea at the end of the day.  However, sometimes I start my day with chocolate.

Most of the time now, due in part to my February intentions to bring more fruit and flexibility into my life, I eat a wholesome breakfast.

If you can source fresh fruit from the Farmers Market you are fortunate and can create a lovely tasty and healthy bowl of breakfast flavour.  I think it is such a special treat to have access to flavoursome organically grown fresh fruit.

fresh fruit

Nectarine and Peach

Green Grapes

Breakfast cereal with green grapes

I think it would be wonderful to step out into a kitchen garden in the morning and pick an avocado or a ripe tomato straight from the vine to make breakfast.  Maybe some fresh parsley for the scrambled eggs.  However, I am fully aware that to have a productive kitchen garden takes attention and nurturing as well as money, time and space.  So my option is to purchase the avocado, tomato or cucumber for the local greengrocer during the week or the Farmers Market on the weekend.

Avocado

Avocado with English Muffins

Avocado / Pepper

Add a little black pepper and enjoy!

I have heard people say that it is better for the body to have a substantial breakfast, to eat like a king for the first meal of the day, then a lighter meal for lunch.  At the end of the day it is suggested that meal be our smallest meal for the day and our digestive system will be most grateful.  I often get this around the wrong way and eat my smallest meal at the beginning of the day and largest meal at the end of the day.

rice cakes

The pauper’s breakfast, rice cakes and cheese with the ritualistic black coffee

Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and dinner like a Pauper

~  Adelle Davis (1904-1974)

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions, quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breakfast .. healthy or not?

  1. i think i’m hungry now and it is 10 pm here…lol

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

