Get Active, Move, Do More

I think cleaning is a very effective form of exercise.  It gets me moving and keeps me on track with my ‘eliminate clutter’ philosophy and intentions for 2012.  In the last month I have been pushing the vacuum around without great success and the dust remains and my arms just get tired.  I have struggled with the cleaning because the machine is full of last month’s dust and I have been quite inefficient in my cleaning routine, quite a poor effort really.

So today, I went to the shop and purchased a new filter and dust bags for the machine.

WOW!  Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning, so much cleaning to be done.   (singing)

I love cleaning now!

AND ..  it got me thinking.  Vacuuming is so much easier and more enjoyable for me when I have the right tools and they are well maintained.  If we don’t have the correct tools and materials, any task becomes more difficult and we lose interest quickly.  Or get frustrated in the sub-standard outcome and what we don’t achieve.

Surely this is the same for our holistic intentions.  Our tools and equipment could be our body / our attitude / our relationships / or our time.  Then the maintenance required could be considered as good nutrition / healthy exercise / positive attitude / sleep / reviewing our plan / and stepping back to consider the next step with an objective eye.

You have probably heard the fable of the man who was sawing a log.  He was labouring at his task and a wise passerby asked why he did not stop and sharpen his saw (ie. maintain his equipment).   To which the man replied that he had no time and he continued on his labouring task with the blunt saw ..  taking more time and with an unclean cut.  The wise passerby was looking with an objective eye and could see that the saw was blunt and the task was difficult.  But, the worker was not open to wise counsel and continued with his frustrating task.

I am working on keeping my tools and equipment well maintained and in good condition.  so that when I am required to work hard at a task I have the ability / skill as well as the correct equipment to complete the task required in a efficient and effective manner.

cleaning done?  check

exercise?  check

good nutrition?  check

Now time for sleep and rejuvenation.  Good night!

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

