Catch a Tiger’s tail .. or not

Creating good luck and fun is all about being in the right place at the right time with the right attitude and an open heart.  Right?

Well, sometimes we don’t notice it.

I remember some time ago my husband (at the time) talking about a quote and a little story that has remained a lovely ‘family’ moment of fun days.

He told the children about a quote “Catch a tiger’s tail and put it in your pocket”  Me, being naive at the time, went along with the story and did not contradict him although it made no sense to me, I thought he must have known something that I didn’t!  I never questioned him at the time I was too annoyed about everything else that was happening.  He also grabbed an imaginary tail (how cute) and stuffed it in the pocket of his jacket.

Well, now I understand,  it seems he was trying to relay the song Catch a falling star by Perry Como.

Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket
Never let it fade away
Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket
Save it for a rainy day
For love may come and tap you on the shoulder
Some starless night
Just in case you feel you wanna hold her
You’ll have a pocketful of starlight

He just had the words slightly wrong.  I did wonder how someone might find a tigers tail to put into their pocket. However, his intention was to have fun and spread a little joy around the ‘family’.   I still smile when I remember that day.

May you notice the small moments of joy in your day – every day.

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

