Earth Day 2012

22 April, 2012 is Earth Day and I would like to celebrate and acknowledge the significance of the day.   Although this day does not appear to be acknowledged in Australia to the degree it is in other parts of the world (America and England), it is relevant no matter where you live/reside as we are all part of this earth.

Early Play Australia acknowledges Earth Day and encourages us to participate in an family activity and celebrate by planting a tree or cooking a meal with fresh produce harvested from the kitchen garden.

What do you plan to do?

I have decided that I needed to do something as April is Get Real month for me and therefore important to put my hand on my heart and put my words into actions.  All good intentions are just that, intentions unless we put them into action.  So what to do?

Well, I planted a tree last year and the year before and neither have done well, just waiting now to see if the last one has completely die or there is still a little hope left.  (sigh)  Evidence proves that planting a tree is not the best activity for me.

Composting is a great earth nurturing activity, but you would have to agree it does smell a bit and as the yard is small the neighbours might complain.  Besides, I don’t have a kitchen garden to utilise the compost in the manner that would make it a good ‘Earth Day’ activity.

Community Garden are an awesome way to participate in gardening and creating a kitchen garden when you don’t have the space or the correct tools.  I have participate a number of time in a couple of different gardens.  It was good fun and the potatoes, strawberries, cherry tomatoes, lettuce, sweetcorn and herbs were very tasty and there were plenty to share for everyone.  However, I need something new that I can do at home, on the day and without a lot of planning.

So, it was officially decided it will be a reduce, reuse and recycle activity I will be participating in.  So here is my report of the day.

  • I rinsed out some plastic bags to use again
  • Washed tins and plastic and placed in recycling
  • Re-used lunch wraps from yesterday for a second day (stored in fridge)
  • Prepared tomorrows lunch today and packed a lunchbox to take snacks to work
  • Put socks on my feet and an extra jumper instead of turning the heater on
  • Turned off some of the main lights in the house an hour earlier than usual. (I left some small lamps on)
  • Turned the TV off before I turned the computer on
  • Went out in the car only once (made a list of things to do next outing)
  • Dried the washing in the fresh air and sunshine.

Here are some tips from sustainability web site (see below).   They suggest that to “Reduce simply means living more carefully, so that you have less rubbish to get rid of later on”.  This could mean:

  • Shopping more carefully by looking for products with minimal packaging.
  • Making foods at home instead of buying takeaways or convenience foods.
  • Making gifts and cards for family and friends, rather than buying them.
  • Growing your own vegetables and flowers.
  • Maintaining and repairing clothes, toys, tools and appliances rather than replacing them with new ones.
  • Looking after items so they last a long time.
  • Using disposables carefully so that you do not waste them.
  • Hiring, sharing and borrowing things rather than buying new ones where possible.

There are more on the below web sites, take a look – it can be so easy to make a little positive difference for the earth.

Clean up Australia

Sustainability Victoria

Go Greener Australia

Let’s build a world and a way of being that we would be proud to hand over to the next generation.

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

