Failure, flab and fruit buns

Dear friends, I have been putting off giving you an update on health and fitness because it is really more about failure, flab and fruit buns!

It is supposed to be fruit and flexibility ….  (sad face)

You see what has happened, is that in my aim to be healthier and to get more fruit, I just put fruit on top of what ever I was going to have in the first place.  Cereal with peaches, cake with strawberries, fruit-loaf, biscuits and cheese with grapes. Or a serve of fruit salad after my (already eloquently sufficient) main meal.

I think what I am supposed to do (to be more healthy), is replace some of the regular unhealthy food with fresh and seasonal fruit, that would be more healthy. To stop eating, well not completely (that would be a bit extreme and unhealthy).

Then the other part of the aim was also to walk more, to park the car two blocks further away that usual, go for a brisk walk after work or take a 15 minute stroll during lunch break and generally get more active.  Also garden for at least twenty minutes every day as recommended by anyone who has a beautiful garden.  In other words, move more!

Why do I find this so difficult?

It is pretty simple really – eat less and move more!

To have someone beside us to motivate and encourage makes so much difference to maintaining good progress towards achieving goals.  A Fitness Coach, Personal Trainer, Life Coach, Dietitian, Nutritionist  or a good mate.  Well, I will let you into my secret …  Biggest Loser has been my coach and motivator in the last couple of months.  They have some great tips for getting fruit and vegetables into your diet and some useful information on the nutritional benefits of healthy eating of small and regular portioned meals.  As they say, slow and steady can become a new habit in no time.

My other motivators are my fellow Bloggers.  Check out the posts listed below.

For some ideas on eating real food for sanity .. January to December

For a healthy beetroot salad dish  .. Warm the Cockles of Your Heart 

For new ways of thinking about food ..  Breaking the rubber band 

For fruit and vegetables meal ideas .. January to December

For fruit cobbler  ..  We call him.  Yes! Chef!

fruit

some fruit to start the day …

People say “you are what you eat”.  So maybe I shall also be (in the word of a good friend) a total fruiter!

“Der Mensch ist, was er ißt.”  

~ Ludwig Andreas Feuerbach

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions, quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Failure, flab and fruit buns

  1. I have this same issue. Why is it so hard to eat less and move more? Sigh. All we can do is keep on keeping on!

  2. bev smith says:

    Thank you for adding me to your post. Keep watching there is more to come 🙂

  3. It sounds so easy – but then a project comes up, or a piece of cake or whatever else catches my fancy at the moment and the fruit sits there mocking me. Oh well! I try again the next day. Love the name of your blog!

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

