My spring garden room

Here we are in September, the month for gardening!!

My resolve for September is to plant out my spring garden – to spend more time in the garden – to weed, clip, prune and tidy the garden – to finish the paving – to paint the outdoor furniture, in other words to turn the backyard into a colourful and peaceful garden room, ready for Summer.  I had / have good intentions, so how to put those plan into action is probably pretty important to consider at this time!!

As the saying goes – actions speak louder than words – so here is a list of my action plan.

How to do it …

  • resolve to do/act on your ideas/plans
  • 20 minutes per day, every day (rain, hail or shine)
  • plant-out and pot-up newly purchased  plants (within 24 hours)
  • make an early morning start, aim for first thing in the morning
  • work on a different area each day (keep the interest alive)
  • keep a running list of things to do (an out-of-date list is unhelpful)
  • check back on your list every week to stay on track
  • take a photo, notice the work well done

It is easy to write up a list of tasks … the more difficult part is to put that plan (list) into action.  Someone once said “Great ideas are just that (ideas) unless they are put into action“.  In January 2012 I made a list and I am slowly and steadily working my way through that list.  The plan was revisited again in July at the halfway point to acknowledge achievements made – well done me for continuing on the journey!  Not too much self-sabotage going on.  There have been a few hiccups along the way, some I have created myself but some are just situations and circumstance (weather, finance, health and commitments to other more important people and things).

You don’t make progress by standing on the sidelines, whimpering and complaining. You make progress by implementing ideas.

Shirley Chisholm (1924-2005)

I agree with the belief that people who achieve are the ones who pick themselves up when they fall down more times than falling down.  Our capacity to bounce back from failure or adversity is directly linked to our resilience and ability to cope when times are difficult.   Success could be considered as doing many small tasks and activities well, not just one thing exceptionally well.  Being noticed for doing one thing exceptionally well would be relevant to a five minutes of fame scenario.  (ie. five minutes later he / she would be forgotten and replaced by someone else and their five minutes of fame).  Therefore, my philosophy is if I can do something related to my good intentions and do it well every day, then I can consider myself successful according to my 2012 resolutions.  So every day I spend 20 minutes on some task related to each of the intentions (health, garden, finance, cooking, creativity, de-cluttering, study, re-cycling, spiritual well-being and self-care).

Some people become bored with mundane and repetitive tasks unless they are a stickler for routine and structure.  My strength is more in being flexible than structured so I have devised a plan that seems to work for me.  I have a broad aim (lets say it is develop a spring garden) but no strict routine or structure.  This allows me to be directed by what interest me (flexibility) to complete a task related to the theme or objective.   For example, I might weed an untidy garden bed or I might dig up and fertilise a different area of the garden. I work on the area that draws my attention at the time, because I notice it, not just because it is on the list of tasks to be completed.  My action is still related to the list of tasks and the ideas/plans, however my interest is fully engaged, I feel successful and I continue to be motivated to stay on track with my big picture intentions.

Eacher got it right.  Men step down and yet rise up, the hand is drawn by the hand it draws, and a woman is poised on her very own shoulders.

Marvin Levine, 1997.

May your day be full of fabulous ideas implemented in successful actions.

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions, quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My spring garden room

  1. pommepal says:

    I find gardening very compulsive. When I am home I will wander out to “just” look and before I know it I am pulling weeds, pruning and then it will turn into a full day of gardening,very satisfying. We are on our way home now and I can already hear the garden calling…

  2. pommepal says:

    I also am sending you an award “the reader appreciation award” because I enjoy reading about the same things I love in your posts..http://pommepal.wordpress.com/

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

