Weekly photo challenge ~ Geometry

The photo challenge this week is to share a photo that represents “…shapes and rhythms that make up the geometry of our world…”.  This is not a very clear photo (it is taken on ‘htc’ mobile phone) so apologies for that but I love this building so much I wanted to share it with you.

The Hotel Charles is a beautiful (big white) building and was opened in July 2010.  Prior to that time the building had been derelict, desolate and abandoned.   Although it must be said, there were a number of homeless people who were using the building for safety and shelter at the time of the sale and were locked out or moved on quickly when it became apparent that asbestos was evident in many parts of the old dilapidated building.

The Charles

Hotel Charles (Hotel and luxury apartment living in Launceston, Tasmania)

This building was previously the Launceston General Hospital.  A new site and building has been created across the road and was built in early 2000’s.  Renovations and upgrades continue at the Charles and Franklin Street site with stage C of the hospital development nearing completion.

As always with renovation and change there are debates and disagreements.   I wonder where those homeless people are now?  Did they manage to keep warm during the winter months?  Why did they paint it white?  It makes me ponder on how we each cope with change during the transition stages.

You must agreed that the building is a delightful geometric vision!  

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly photo challenge ~ Geometry

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (2) « What's (in) the picture?

  2. I agree! A great photo for the Geometry challenge. And an interesting history about the building. Thank you for visiting my blog and “Like-ing” my post. The photo challenges are a great way to “meet” new bloggers.

    • I am glad you liked it. Yes, it is fun to add a bit of interesting information about the building, especially about it’s past. The old hospital had been mostly empty for many years with only small sections being used or accessible. I believe there were some photos taken of the ‘homes'(rooms) of some of the people who were squatting in the old building. They were put on gallery display in the corridor of the new hospital. I did not view them as I believe it was a bit of an intrusion (not sure if the people had given permission – I don’t believe so).

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (3) « What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (4) « What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (5) « What's (in) the picture?

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

