My spring garden .. blooms

If you want to conquer fear, don’t sit home and think about it.  Get out and get busy!

~  Dale Carnegie

Self doubt is such a terrible thing.  It can cripple our ability to do good things and participate in life.  When a person doubts their own capacity or potential it can stop them from even trying.  I recall many times when I have heard people say …  “you can’t”, “don’t bother”, “it won’t work”, “it is not possible”, or “give up now before you make a fool of yourself!”  Too many negative and discouraging comments can lead a person to believe others opinion, instead of their own skills and capacity, is the truth.   This kind of negativity can give reason for self-doubt to foster and drown out courage.

Voltaire tells us “we must cultivate our own garden”.  These words seem so serendipitous to me.   According to Merriam Webster dictionary they could mean a number of things.

garden  ..  a plot of ground used to cultivate useful plants

garden  ..  an open-air establishment where refreshment are served

cultivate  ..  to foster growth

cultivate  ..  to improve by labour

Maybe Voltaire, the French philosopher was saying we must work hard to develop our skills and ability so that we can create joy and usefulness in our own lives and experiences.  Maybe, it is not really about gardens and plants at all.

… and therefore I shall interpret this according to my own skill, capacity, interest and purpose.  Self-doubt and negative comments from those that qualm, scorn and criticise shall have no further say in the matter.  Be gone with you thoughts that harken of failure and futility.

So!!   I shall go forth and continue to foster growth of interesting and useful plants (experiences). I will work hard to improve the garden (my life) so that I can enjoy the open-air environment and refreshments (good nutrition) with friends and family (emotional connections) during the sunny days of Spring and the balmy evenings of the Summer that is on it’s way.

In search of my mother’s garden, I found my own!  ~  Alice Walker

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions, quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My spring garden .. blooms

  1. What a beautiful post! In my experience, people that tear others down are usually very unhappy themselves. They are fraught with fear and self-loathing. It’s a lesson I wish I had learned at a much younger age, but knowing it now is positively liberating.

    I’ve also learned that the more we do to fill up ourselves in a positive way, the more we attract other positive people.

    I think you’re on to something!

  2. PS…I just planted crocus yesterday (it’s fall here). It’s nice to see yours on the spring end popping up.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

