Weekly photo challenge ~ surprise

The weekly photo challenge is surprising … as it has me back at the computer and camera thinking and looking for an inspiring surprise.  I shall try a do a bit of a catch up with the blogosphere in the next few days.

In the meantime let me share this photo that was taken when walking across to Tamar Island Wetlands during Spring.  We found this big and beautiful dark green tree with the colour of red springing from it’s foliage.

What tree is this?

What tree is this?

We had never seen a tree like this before, so we walked up the grassy hill, closer to have a look … and …  the flower is a berry shape and probably more dark pink in colour than red.  The foliage of the tree was also different than what I was expecting when we first noticed the tree, from the pathway.

the unusual flowers of the unknown tree

the unusual flowers of the unknown tree

When I got home and uploaded the photos of the day on to the computer I was not expecting a band-aid to be the highlight of the day.

Ha! Ha!  The word of that day and the photo challenge (December 21) is SURPRISE!

I might have to do a little more research (about the tree, not the band-aid), does anyone know what the tree is called?

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly photo challenge ~ surprise

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Christmas Surprise Triage at Grandma’s | Humbled Pie

  2. Pingback: Still Traveling | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

