Changes

Home for the holidays!  Hip Hip Hooray!!

One of the pleasures of Christmas is when family are home for holidays, when adult children return to the family home for a few days or a few hours, it can be a time to celebrate and reflect.

For some of us it is a chance to catch-up on the changes and progress of different members of the family – how much the younger ones have grown over the twelve months – who is working where and the little differences (or not) around the home where one spent time as a child or teenager in previous years.

The moment of the week for me was when I went to pick up a family member at the airport.  I walked across towards the baggage carousel where the (just stepped off the plane) family member was standing patiently waiting for their luggage to arrive from the baggage handling staff – they looked my way … and … I received just a passing glance (from said family member) and then they looked away.

Oh no! Oh bother!  Have I embarrassed her?   Is she ashamed of me? Does my shirt have large coffee stain on the front?  Am I late?  Should I apologise for only being five minutes early for the flights expected time of arrive (ETA) instead of 15 minutes early?

I felt quite disregarded all of a sudden, a bit like a middle aged women at the boutique counter of the fashion department.

Not to be perturbed, I sallied forth and walked up for a smile of acknowledgement and a warm hug … and closer inspection apparently.  After the initial greeting and general comments on flight, luggage and weather – the conversation moved on to more personal discussion.

“You look good, I didn’t recognise you”, she said to me, as we were walking out of the airport with the luggage!

– awkward pause –

“I am sorry, that didn’t come out quite right, have you cut your hair?” she continued with a slight apologetic tone.

… and yes I had cut my hair (about 4 inches shorter) BUT I also feel different too, dear reader.  I feel different on the inside, a little healthier, a little lighter in weight, a little less mess in my life and a feeling that I am in a better financial position that I was at the beginning of the year.  My clothes fit me better too and I don’t feel exhausted by everyday life.  I get things done, I achieve and I am not chasing my tail all the time like I was in 2011.

So, maybe that is a good sign – to be not easily recognised by those we consider close but don’t see every week, those who know us well – maybe the old me is going (staying in the past) and the new ‘me’ is evolving!

Bring on the New (Year) and Improved (Me) I say!

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

