Sharing the Christmas spirit of light and love

Christmas is a lovely time of the year, what ever your spiritual belief.

December holiday time can be anything from sharing a sumptuous family meal with all the seasoning and the plum pudding along with plenty of brandy custard – to a fun time at the beach or playing cricket in the sun – or for others an opportunity to relax at home or do tasks, like water the garden and wash the windows.

Christmas holidays for me, represents a time with family and friends as well as an opportunity to do some of those enjoyable things in home and garden.  I love the wrapping of presents and the smell of the traditional Christmas Roast.

colourful garden lights at the gateway

colourful garden lights at the gateway

I am not one for decorating the house with lots of lights and colourful tinsel but I do enjoy the decorating skills of others.  A drive around the neighbourhood and we get to see the creative ways other people have chosen to acknowledge the festive season.

A Christmas greeting in lights on the house rooftop

A Christmas greeting in lights on the house rooftop

My December intention is to be in the right place at the right time.  I know in the past I have not done this well.  I have found myself somewhere participating in the event of the moment (not quite knowing how to excuse myself and leave) while my heart and mind is yearning to be somewhere else.

I start lots of things, but I don’t finish things well.

Like the time when I stopped to visit a friend on the way home from work, for a half hour coffee … and three hours later am still at their house talking and listening and drinking too much coffee.  I had planned to be home early enough to water the garden, cook a healthy tea and get the washing in off the line before dark.

My good intention had been to stop and say a quick hello with a friend, spending most of my evening connecting with home and family.

However, I often sabotaged my own intentions.  I don’t do this so much any more.  Over time I have began to notice my actions were not supporting my original intentions.  I still came up with plenty of excuses why things did not go according to the initial plan (my first intention).  I blamed the occasion, giving it more significance than it deserved, blamed other people (what else could I do), even the time of the day (it didn’t really matter it was not late).

This month and for the rest of my live I want to intentionally be in the right place at the right time doing the right thing.  I do not want to be embarrassed or uncomfortable in the morning, when I realise I forgot something important that I ‘should’ have done during the previous day, or drank too much the night before, or said something inappropriate to someone, or did not notice an opportunity to do or say the right thing at the right time.

So this moment .. signifies for me the beginning of the rest of my life .. sharing and living a spirit of light and love!!

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

