Tasmanian fires

Just a quick post to let you know.

We have had devastating fires over night and yesterday in the Dunalley region of Tasmania, Australia.

It seems that there have been over 65 homes and building destroyed, including a public school and the local RSL (Returned and Services League of Australia) Club and community rooms in Dunalley as well as property in the Primrose Sands area.

Further information about the recent fire in Tasmania here.

The photo below is from the Tasmanian Animal hospitals facebook page.  It is of a weary man and his horse Jeunes.  As I understand, it was taken after the Black Saturday Bushfires, Victoria, 2009.

The 2009 Black Saturday fires claimed 173 lives and destroyed 2029 homes.

Summer and fire risk is upon us.  No matter what the risk in life (flood, fire, war, famine or fiscal cliff) it is important to have a safety net of some kind, an exit plan and a little emotional strength in reserve.

Be nice to your neighbours, you might need their help one day!

NOTE:  the meaning of ‘nice’ as it relates to the above comment – pleasant, agreeable, well behaved and/or respectable

Postscript:  Just now on the news is information that a 2500 acres uncontrolled fire is burning on the East Coast (near Bicheno & Coles Bay) and warnings have been ungraded.  For those families and owners who have not already left their properties, they have been informed now that it is too late to leave and will need to activate their bushfire plans.

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in books & authors, photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tasmanian fires

  1. pommepal says:

    I think what shook me so much about these fires is that I do not think of Tasmania as being a real fire risk, but I guess we are all at risk in this volatile land. That is such an emotional picture of the horse. I think many farm animals were lost in this latest fire

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

