Love Poems (1982)

Crash Into My Life

Did you mean to crash

into my life this way

leaving everything so topsy turvy as you left?

Did you mean to tell me that you

didn’t know I’d care?

Did you really think I’d laugh

and walk away.

How small you must have thought me

if even for a moment you believed

I could smell roses in the air

and taste Champagne again

and walk away at midnight

to rake my leaves

and give up life again.

Danielle Steel (1982)

I have been doing some cleaning out (as I am want to do with my good intentions) and came across this book of Love Poems by Danielle Steel.  So, I decided to share a poem or two with you.

The blurb on the inside cover reports that Ms Steel’s mother was Portuguese and her father German.  One thing that continues to amazed me is the amount of different languages in the world.  Danielle’s family all speak eight languages, their common language being French.

However, the most universal language that we understand and communicate with, regardless of our place of birth, family or culture, is the language of ‘love and loss’.

Danielle Steel’s poem (above) on love and loss makes me wonder – how many people are out there in the world just raking up leaves?

May you experience more love in your life than loss!

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in books & authors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love Poems (1982)

  1. Thanks for sharing the poem. Who knew? Something to think about for sure.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

