Is this mine or your’s?

I remember in one of my first paid work position I feel the urge (need) to label things with my name.  That is things that were mine, items I had at work that were paid for by my personal budget or brought in from home to make my work day a little easier.  It was fun to make name labels and tags and stick them on numerous items about the place. Do you recall the cute plastic embossed label maker and the ‘click, click, click’ of printing a label?  It seems you can still buy them!

When my work colleagues borrowed an item I would say “.. that is my very own personal stapler so bring it back”!  They could quite easily see where to return as it had a VERY BIG NAME TAG on it.  What was I thinking?  I must have been one of a rare breed that paid for things out of my own wallet that in reality (looking back now from a position of wisdom and experience) should probably have been provided and paid for by my employer.

One thing I do know about myself is that sometimes I can be so unnecessarily precious about what I considered is mine!

However, there are times when this is an important and very useful thing to do (labelling things that is).  When you have a young family member who is learning to speak or write for example, or you are learning a new language yourself it can been helpful to put labels on chairs and tables and cupboard doors to help you learn the new words.  Also useful when someone is starting to forget everyday words or recovering from an acquired brain injury.

But, not very useful when trying to declare something is precious, personal or private – like I did in my younger day.

Now I look back and remember my stapler with the name tag … I am amused at the younger me.  “Really, it was a donation to the cause anyway, it was not like you took it back home after the work day or event“.

We live in a world that we share with others, the space around me is part of a community and not mine alone, I live in a house that belongs in part to a banking institution;  people are individual and not possessions, even this body I live in is on loan and one day I will depart from it and it will no longer be me or mine.

So, my reflections of what is mine is in the gifts of love and friendship that are shown to me.  What better way than cards and gifts of affection that I have received.

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is this mine or your’s?

  1. I actually did the same, only because my favorite “roller ball” expensive pens that I also purchased with my own funds continually came up missing. After losing several I started labeling.
    I never had the problem after that. Also my tape dispenser was a hot item to end up missing, so it became labeled as well.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

