Weekly photo challenge ~ Window

Windows are fabulous things, windows to the garden and sea views, window to my soul …

Sometimes windows are placed strategically in a building to capture the view or frame a view as we might say.  Some windows are set to let in the light yet at the same time block out the view (of the concrete jungle or the windows of the neighbour’s dwelling) in a effort to maintain privacy and create a haven inside the building.

This post was inspired by Daily post, weekly photo challenge (January 10, 2014).

There is a building in Tasmania (Mona Vale) that has lots of windows, 365 in fact.  It is reported to also have 52 rooms.  It is a private dwelling and family home.  I went to visit Mona Vale property once many years ago.  It was one of those events that I remember fondly – a road trip with two Aunties.  Two people I have fond memories of spending time with their companionship during school holidays. There were some funny moments too but that is another story.

There were areas of the building that were open and information available on the property for the public on the day we visited.  My memory of the building is that it had 365 windows, 52 rooms and 7 staircases (there is a slightly different story on Wikipedia).  I recall we had a delightful picnic in the garden – salad with ‘hard boiled’ eggs, ham and fresh bread followed by cups of tea and coffee with homemade cake and biscuits baked by my Mother’s sisters.  It was a delightful day!

This is where the picture of Mona Vale would be, but I don’t have copyright of the picture I could include for you, so you will have to take my word for it in regard to its size and windows.   Perhaps you could research it, maybe visit one of the links above.  It is indeed a beautiful property and building.

Penny Royal, Launceston

Penny Royal, Launceston

Instead I will share one of my pictures (of a different building) instead.  This is part of the Penny Royal Complex in Launceston, Tasmania.

Family time and fun together is so important for our emotional wellbeing!

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

