Silence is within!

This week has been a beautiful week for me.

It started with a very social weekend with two days of numerous intimate and lively conversations with dear friends, both well-known and new.  I met with a distant cousin for the first time and we exchanged photos and facts on family history.  It seems that my mother’s mother was her mother’s father’s father’s sister.  Don’t you just love old family photos?  What year do you think this photo was taken?

Tasmanian family history

Tasmanian family history

I visited a ‘spiritual friend’ whose company was delightful and inspirational.  We have similar interests in many things.  She shared with me about her experiences and a home that she lived in some years ago that was (wait for it)  … the home of my dreams, my fantasy home.  I was amazed!  It was like she was telling me about my home in a past or future life and it was quite an emotional moment for me.   Her garden at her home is also delightful and it is easy to see that she and her partner have spend many hours nurturing their garden and home.  It reminded me that planting a garden is for the benefit of the soil and the earth.   Yet so many times I hear people talk as if gardening is something you do to ‘sell’ a house – not because you live in that house and home and love it.

flowers of blue - surviving the generations

flowers of blue – surviving the generations

Then I met up with four (lifelong) friends for a delicious evening of food and companionship. We first met when our children were young, preschool years and we are still friends today.  At that time in the early days, we talked about education and school, maintaining and surviving relationships and how to discipline our children.  Now when we are together, we talk about travel, gardening, our delight in our children’s achievements and our concerns for the environment and politics.  It is very special to feel so safe with someone that you can comfortably express your political view or personal and individual disappointments.

I sat with my Mother Dearest to share the photos and the family stories from our distant cousin.  Mother recalled to me conversations and events of the past and how her mother’s sister would visit their home by horse and carriage.  My mother would rush out to open the gate of the long drive for her Auntie.  Auntie would sit in the carriage for the full visit and my mother (as a young girl) would take out a cup of tea for the visitor and her Mother (my grandmother).  A cup of tea to enjoy while they had their family and social chat.   Such special stories to hear and visualise. (if I close my eyes softly I can see a hazy picture of that long drive and the stately woman dressed in black and a beautiful hat sitting in the carriage, sipping tea from a fine china cup with a pretty saucer).  Mother Dearest told me that Auntie could not leave the horse unattended – so they had their cup of tea outside.

Then, before I dived into Monday I enjoyed a looooooooong conversation with my sister as we planned and contemplated an overseas family holiday.  How much fun would it be to travel together and visit places I have never seen before in this lifetime?  To create memories together and share in that beautiful relationship that is sisterly love.  I have collected some pictures and travel brochures to pin onto my vision board in preparation to conjure up this experience for my future.  Vision boards are such a fun thing and a reminder for me of what I hope and plan for the future.

So much conversation and so much companionable joy in those two days, that I needed to stop and absorb it all.  So that it would stay with me, to motivate and encourage me for the coming week.  And it has.   We all need a little spiritual propping up occasionally.

This week my heart and soul is content.  Silence is within me and I turn off the radio each morning as I instead revel in the quiet that is within my heart.  I am so grateful for the beauty in the trees and flowers that are around me, the garden of the Earth.  I listen to the wind rustling the leaves of the trees.  I am confident in the knowledge that I belong here.   I am content as I become increasing aware that I am connected with love to both the past and to the future – I am indeed a child of the universe.

Ah!  I stop and breathe in that silence!

This post is inspired by Daily Post Writing Challenge (February 17, 2014)

This week, we’re asking you to make “silence” a presence in your post. We promise, it’s not as counter-intuitive as it sounds! (Erica, DPchallenge)

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions, photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

