My time to shine

I am a night owl!

Well, I used to be!

I have always loved to stay up late and read, talk, study, listen to music or watch a movie.  I like to go out for dinner with friends or family and stay out late listening to live music, dancing and enjoying the night life, sipping wine and delighting in the evening atmosphere.  Eventually wandering home at midnight or in the early hours of the morning and climbing into bed content and satisfied with my social life and use of time.

Consequently I am not – as one might say – a morning person.

I recall one New Years Party when I vowed to myself (and anyone who would listen) that I would stay awake until the sun came up and the eggs were being cooked for breakfast – and I did!  I came home at 8am and went straight to bed and sleep.  That was the first and only time I experienced an all night party.

I now understand the hangover from lack of sleep is equal to that from excess alcohol, dancing or too much food.   Sleep deprivation is not good for the soul!

When I was a young mother we had a special Friday night routine.  I would go to bed early and my daughter would have a later than usual bedtime.  This allowed us to both go to bed at the same time.  It was a ritual that was physically and emotionally beneficial for us both.  I would be tired after the week of work and study commitments and ready for a relaxing family time.  My daughter – she was be ready for time with ‘Mumsie’, and a later evening as there would be no school for her the following day.

We would snuggle together in bed and this was the delight of my week – Mother and daughter time with no pressure from the outside world and expectations.  Delightful!

But things have changed in my life in the last few years.  I did not truly understand previously how precious rest is and how important it is to connect with home – more important than any social life outside of home and family.   I now celebrate sleep and delight in sneaking off to bed early.  What pleasure there is in fresh cotton sheets and big pillows, soft lights and the sweet sounds of eventide.  The pleasure of sleep allows me to be more grateful – to wake up in the morning rested and content ready for the morning rituals and routines.

Night, Night!  Sleep well everybody!

Oh bed! O bed! Delicious bed!

That heaven upon earth to the weary head!

Thomas Hood (quote garden)

 

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in good intentions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

