Photo Challenge ~ Signs

A visit to England and I am reminded of Australia!!!!

No surprise there!   We have a long history – England and Australia.

My ancestors were English and they travelled here to Australia in a convict ship many (over 200) years ago.      As the story goes, there was a young woman who was charged with stealing and sentenced to a life in Australia, as a convict …. and many years later I was born as a descendant of that young woman (and a number of other people!).  Anne White (London, 1771) arrived in Australia in 1790 and she is my 4th great grandmother.   Anne Parker (London 1785) arrived in Australia 1803 and was the wife of my 4th great grandfather.

When I had the opportunity to travel to UK (in 2009 and 2014) I felt a strong connection to English life and curious about places and names that have appeared in my family history.  There are signs of family connection everywhere.

I found this plaque / sign on the wall of a house in Lyme Regis, England.  Apparently, it is the house that Royal Navy Officer, Captain Richard Spencer lived in, before he went to Australia.  According to Wikipedia he moved to Albany, Western Australia in his later years and was granted Government resident of Albany.   His property, Strawberry Hill Old Farm is now a National Trust property, restored, maintained and open to the public.  It is mentioned on the Wikipedia website that he bought 21 of his family and servant members with him to make a new and better life in Australia for his children and family.

Home of Captain Sir Richard Spencer (Pioneer of Albany Western Australia) Lyme Regis, England.

Home of Captain Sir Richard Spencer (Pioneer of Albany Western Australia) Lyme Regis, England.

This post is inspired by Photo Challenge of the Daily Post (October 3, 2014)

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

