Photo Challenge ~ achievement

Dubai’s economic achievement and development has progressed significantly in recent years.  I travelled there recently and spent a few days as part of my journey to Europe.  It was a very interesting place and I did not know what to expect apart from the heat and that it was during ramadan – I would stay longer next time although probably not during ramadan.   Being, not used to that level of intense heat and unable to drink water in public during the day I struggled a bit with the heat and environment.    I visited the museum, markets and malls as well as went for short walks around the city in the heat – looking for the shade wherever possible.  The development of the city and the infrastructure is  amazing and the country has really shifted their economic situation.

Display from the Dubai museum

Display from the Dubai museum

And the creative skills of the Bedouin People is indeed a significant achievement.   I am continually amazed at the skills of those people who can create everyday articles, tools and clothing that look amazingly beautiful as well as useful.     This piece in the photo below is a musical instrument and is worn around the waist, producing sound when shaken.  You can see the man in the photo wearing the ‘shekhlebah‘.

The 'shekhlebah' instrument is made from goats hooves and worn around the waist

The ‘shekhlebah’ instrument is made from goats hooves and worn around the waist

This post is part of the Weekly photo challenge of November 14 as posted by Michelle W.  WordPress provides an opportunity for bloggers to “publish a new post with a photo interpreting the theme”.   Anyone can participate and each Friday there is a new photo challenge and theme set.

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo Challenge ~ achievement

  1. Lauren says:

    I really loved your interpretation of this theme. 🙂

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

