On Being Grateful

Dear self,

Thank you for 2014!

This short letter is to say thank you and let you know how much I have appreciated you this year and the opportunities and experiences that we have created together.  It has indeed been a pleasure to continue our friendship and life in glorious harmony, caring for the body, nurturing our soul and educating my mind.

Thank you for taking the time to get to know me, to really know and understand me.  For loving me and my foibles and weaknesses as well as my courage and beauty.

Thank you for helping me to stay in employment that allows me to be creative and nurtures and supports me.  It is indeed a privilege to have regular employment where one can work in line with one’s life purpose.

Thank you for the quiet mornings of reflection when we sit together at the beginning of the day peacefully planning a good and bright day.  This has been an enjoyable ritual for me this year.

Thank you for relaxing sleep each night.  I am so grateful that my sleep is peaceful, deep and refreshing each and every night.  You settle my mind and allow my body to rest.

Thank you for introducing me to new friends this year, what a delight to meet ‘J’ at the bookshop and ‘R’ at the retreat and to get to chat with ‘D’ on that short and memorable plane flight.

Thank you for travelling with me on our holiday in Europe during the Summer, we had fun didn’t we –  and only got lost once.   Although, I never feel really lost or alone when I have your company and care in my life.

Thank you for helping me make time for study and reading – for the library books of Neale Donald Walsh and Lily Brett.     For John Adair’s leadership theory and Singletons’s stakeholders matrix for communicating change in the workplace.  For the novel ‘The 100 Year Old Man who Climbing out the Window and Disappeared’ by Jonas Jonasson and Lise by Katherine Roy.

Thank you for keeping me connected with family and friends – even when I feel tired or preoccupied you help me to get motivated to visit, call and write.  When I listen to you and allow myself to be guided by your wisdom I always find myself in the ‘right’ place at the ‘right’ time.  Thank you for your encouragement.

Thank you for suggesting I enrol in the two day art class – what fun to spend two days drawing, sketching and creating.   The food, country setting and glass of Tasmanian wine with lunch was delightful.  I am so glad I listened and followed through on your suggestion.

What a year!  It has been a beautiful 2014, yes there has been some low and sad days …  yet there has been so many more wonderful days and beautiful moments … I am so grateful that I have the opportunity to know and love you – from my heart thank you for being you!!   I love you!

With love and blessings for 2015, from ME!

About holistic complications

I like to work on a personal goal or challenge each year .. learning from my previous experiences, I try and face my fears, to stretch myself and step forward, to create a more holistic and authentic life, living with good intentions - a clear, honest and 'real' life! I want to be more accountable for the life I live and create! My experience of being real and authentic are quite complicated at times!! I blog to share my blunders, experiences and ideas and to gain some insight from the self reflection that the process of blogging creates for me.
This entry was posted in books & authors, good intentions, reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Being Grateful

  1. Beautifully written:)
    Wish you best of Luck for 2015!

  2. spiritualfx says:

    Great piece!…I often ask myself: “Can you love your EGO?”….this helps me accept those moments in life when things aren’t quite working out and I react negatively – ironically they’re becoming less and less as I begin to realize it simply is what it is.

    Namaste`

Please share your thoughts and leave a comment ...

